2011 Senior Volunteer Awards

Celebrating senior volunteers who provided services to the community.

October 16, 2011

2011 Senior Volunteer Awards Winners Announced

On October 16, 2011, Culture to Culture Foundation celebrated both its 10th anniversary as well as the award ceremony for the fourth annual Senior Volunteer Awards. Hosted at the Contra Costa Jewish Community Center, the senior volunteer nominees and winners were presented along with events such as an international fashion show and a Korean and Indian dance as tribute to the Foundation's 10th anniversary. 

Judges for this year's award are:

  • Dolores Fox Ciardelli, Managing Editor, Danville Express
  • Stuart Hing, Judge, Superior Court, Alameda County
  • Shoshana Eliahu, Director Adult/Senior Program Department, Contra Costa Jewish Community Center
  • Barbara Smith
  • Ann Wullschleger, Program Manager, The Know How Network, Volunteer Center of East Bay

Winners of the 2011 award are:

  • Kay Aaker
  • Joy Addiego
  • Tight Boyle
  • Len Bregman
  • Myrtle Cutright
  • Joan Ernst
  • Mike Kluever
  • Wayland Malpass
  • Claudia Mortensen and Irene Stamatis
  • Tina Olton
  • Tom Twist
  • Harriett Zych

Read the 2011 Senior Volunteer Award Program which includes the nomination summaries of all nominees.

October, 2011

2011 Senior Volunteer Award Nominees

  • Aaker, Kay - Nominated by Diana Ryckman, Hospice of the East Bay, Pleasant Hill
  • Addiego, Joy - Nominated by Carol Ann Barber, The Know How Network, Walnut Creek
  • Bennett, Bette - Nominated by Prince Victor, Danville
  • Boyle, Tighe - Nominated by Mary Bruns, Lamorinda Senior Transportation Program, Lafayette Senior Center
  • Bregman, Len - Nominated by Kermit Sveen, Summerset Volunteer Program, Brentwood
  • Callahan, Mike - Nominated by Kermit Sveen, Summerset Volunteer Program, Brentwood
  • Cowan, Ruby - Nominated by Jonathan Torres, Pinole Senior Center, Pinole
  • Cutright, Myrtle - Nominated by Deborah Cash, St. Mark's Lutheran Church, Pleasant Hill
  • Ernst, Joan - Nominated by Rosann Russo and Monica Lander, San Ramon
  • Evans Gloria - Nominated by Sharon and Richard Smith, Danville
  • Fairbanks, Bob - Nominated by Linda Groobin, Caring Hands, Walnut Creek
  • Fuentes, Martha - Nominated by Maria Reyes, La Clinica, Pittsburg
  • Kluever, Mike- Nominated by Sharon Fitzgerald, Meals on Wheels, Walnut Creek
  • Knowles, Rich - Nominated by Alissa Fencsik, The Know How Network
  • Malpass, Wayland - Nominated by Leo Verdas, Pleasant Hill Senior Center
  • Mortensen, Claudia - Nominated by Noelle Pruett, The Kensington
  • Newsong, Eartha - Nominated by Kate Wiley, Seniors Around Town, Orinda
  • Olton, Tina - Nominated by Judge Cram, Contra Costa Superior Court, Elder Abuse Court, Martinez
  • Paulovic, Julia - Nominated by Brenda Perry, Antioch Senior Center, Antioch
  • Pazos, Nettie - Nominated by Shoshana Eliahu, Contra Costa Jewish Community Center, Walnut Creek
  • Reed, Phil - Nominated by Teri Mountford, Alcosta Senior Community Center, San Ramon
  • Rosenberg, Flo - Nominated by Shoshana Eliahu, Jewish Community Center, Walnut Creek
  • Rothway, Barbara - Nominated by Maria Lichauco, The Diablo Valley Foundation for the Aging, Walnut Creek
  • Stamatis, Irene - Nominated by Noelle Pruett, The Kensington, Walnut Creek
  • Tennant, Pat - Nominated by Kathy Kavanagh, Hospice of the East Bay, Walnut Creek
  • Twist, Tom - Nominated by Ray Zenoni, Friends of Meals on Wheels, Pleasant Hill
  • Wallace, Mary - Nominated by Barbara Chavez, Danville Women Club, Danville
  • Zych, Harriet - Nominated by Sydney Anderson, East County Senior Coalition